Filtering by: General Session

12:30 PM12:30

League Annual Meeting & Luncheon

Location: Broadway Ballroom E-F, Level Two

At the League’s Annual Luncheon, President and CEO Jesse Rosen and League Board Chair Douglas M. Hagerman will share updates on the League’s work The League will also present the Ford Musician Awards to the 2019 awardees. Alex Laing will follow with a keynote address. Through words and music, Laing, a fresh voice and accomplished instrumentalist, will examine the very nature of our art form and the dialogue between musicians and audiences. Laing sees opportunities for orchestras to develop if they tap into more of the creative abilities and ambitions of their musicians, and he imagines a wider range for how orchestras define themselves and their work. Sharing notes from the field and foregrounding his own artistic experience as a black, so called 'classical' musician, he will unpack some of the fundamental stories we tell about of our art form, how those stories impact our structures and what we conceive of as 'the work'.

Speakers: Alex Laing, principal clarinet, Phoenix Symphony

Emcee: Fred Child, host, Performance Today

Performers: Caitlin Edwards, violinist, Chicago Sinfonietta; Stephanie Matthews, violinist, creative director, StringCandy / Re-Collective Orchestra; Ryan Murphy, section cello, San Antonio Symphony; Derek Reeves, principal violist, Fort Wayne Philharmonic

2019 Ford Musician Awardees: Victoria Griswold, violin, Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra; Jeff Handley, principal percussionist and education/outreach program director, Chicago Sinfonietta; Donna Parkes, principal trombone, Louisville Orchestra; Rebecca Patterson, principal cello, New Haven Symphony Orchestra; Rebecca Young, associate principal viola, New York Philharmonic

The Ford Musician Awards for Excellence in Community Service are made possible by Ford Motor Company Fund.

The League Annual Meeting and Luncheon is sponsored by PatronManager.

Cost: $35

View Event →